Overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Capital One Financial Corporation, identified by its ticker COF, operates as a prominent financial services holding company. It oversees essential subsidiaries such as Capital One Bank (USA), National Association, and Capital One, National Association, which collectively offer a broad spectrum of financial products and services throughout the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
CAPITAL ONE FINANCIAL CORP
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
DE
Inspect source
Sector
Financials
Inspect source
Industry
Financial - Credit Services
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NYSE: COF-PNcurrentEvidence
Effective
Jul 1, 1998
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred

As of Sep 24, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Relationships and related records

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Andrew Young

Open Andrew Young profile →
Andrew YoungAndrew YoungAnn Fritz HackettAnn Fritz HackettChristine DetrickChristine DetrickCornelis Petrus Ad…Cornelis Petrus Adrianus Joseph Eli LeenaarsCraig Anthony Will…Craig Anthony WilliamsDanielle DietzDanielle DietzEileen SerraEileen SerraFrançois Locoh-DonouFrançois Locoh-DonouFrank G. LaPradeFrank G. LaPradeIme ArchibongIme ArchibongJ. Michael ShepherdJ. Michael ShepherdJennifer L. WongJennifer L. WongCapital One

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Board & Leadership

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Committee appointments

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

12 public records

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 24, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

13 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Financials & Filings

Reported statements, original filings and proxy disclosures with their reporting periods.

Financial statements

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Filing library

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Proxy & Voting

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership & Markets

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership, control and market context

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & Assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Disclosures and oversight

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Evidence & History

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:33e0368e-3051-4430-bf06-e7e0f46b6f5b
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Published evidence records

6 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Alpha canonical company public projection

    canonical identity · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 24, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Legal Name: CAPITAL ONE FINANCIAL CORP · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Entity Status: Public listing published · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: US · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: DE · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Financials · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Financial - Credit Services · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  2. CAPITAL ONE FINANCIAL CORP Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-19)

    SEC filing · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Aug 29, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Official Website: https://www.capitalone.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: https://www.capitalone.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  3. SEC DEF 14A 0001193125-26-124131

    sec def 14a · Source published: Mar 25, 2026 · Retrieved: Sep 22, 2026

    Supports 10 claims
    • Leadership Role: Richard D. Fairbank: Chair · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Ann Fritz Hackett: Lead Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Christine Detrick: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Craig Anthony Williams: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Eileen Serra: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: François Locoh-Donou: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Ime Archibong: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Mayo A. Shattuck III: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Peter Thomas Killalea: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Suni P. Harford: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  4. Capital One Financial Corporation DEF 14A 2026-03-25

    sec proxy · Source published: Mar 25, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 4 claims
    • Leadership Role: Cornelis Petrus Adrianus Joseph Eli Leenaars: Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: J. Michael Shepherd: Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Jennifer L. Wong: Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Matthew W. Cooper: General Counsel and Corporate Secretary; President, Discover Integration (5)(6) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  5. Capital One Financial Corporation key executives

    other · Source published: May 9, 2026 · Retrieved: May 9, 2026

    Supports 11 claims
    • Leadership Role: Andrew Young: Chief Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Danielle Dietz: Managing Vice President of Investor Relations · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Frank G. LaPrade: Chief Enterprise Services Officer & Chief of Staff to the Chief Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Joseph C. Portera: Chief Risk Officer for Financial Services · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Kaitlin Burek Haggerty: Chief Human Resources Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Kara West: Chief Enterprise Risk Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Mark Daniel Mouadeb: President of Card · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Michael Zamsky: Chief Credit & Financial Risk Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Richard D. Fairbank: Founder, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer & President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Robert Alexander: Chief Information Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Sanjiv Yajnik: President of Financial Services · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  6. S&P 500

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: S&P 500 (SPX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026