Published mark

HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.

NASDAQ: HWBK. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:51c0a813-9db9-4251-954b-8ff173ecfba9
SEC CIK
0000893847
Record version
vpublic-1, published Oct 6, 2026
Newest evidence
Apr 17, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Brent M. GilesSince Mar 5, 2026
Chair
Not published
Independent
8 / 1212 directors published
Published claims
433 distinct sources
Evidence records
70 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 3 distinct sources and 7 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

CEO CHANGED

Brent M. Giles executive of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2026-03-05.

EffectiveEffective Mar 5, 2026E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Executive Officer and DirectorBrent M. GilesMar 2026currentSource reportedE3
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial OfficerChris E. HafnerMar 2026currentSource reportedE4
President and DirectorGregg A. BextenMar 2026currentSource reportedE5
Executive Vice President, Chief Risk Officer and DirectorKathleen L. BruegenhemkeMar 2026currentSource reportedE6

Board of directors

Evidence

12 directors published. 8 of 12 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
Brent M. GilesNot independent2023None publishedSource reportedE2
David T. TurnerNot independent1997None publishedSource reportedE2
Douglas T. EdenIndependent2023CompensationCompensation; Nominating and GovernanceNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Frank E. BurkheadIndependent2014Audit, chairAudit · Chair; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceCompensationNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Gregg A. BextenNot independent2023None publishedSource reportedE2
Gus S. Wetzel, IIIIndependent2018AuditAudit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and GovernanceCompensation, chairNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Jonathan D. HoltawayIndependent2019AuditSource reportedE2
Jonathan L. StatesIndependent2022CompensationSource reportedE2
Kathleen L. BruegenhemkeNot independent2017AuditAudit; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceCompensationNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Kevin L. RileyIndependent1995AuditAudit; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceCompensationNominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2
Philip D. FreemanIndependent1993AuditAudit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance · ChairCompensationNominating and Governance, chairSource reportedE2
Shawna M. HettingerIndependent2022Nominating and GovernanceSource reportedE2

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditFrank E. BurkheadFrank E. Burkhead, Gus S. Wetzel, III, Jonathan D. Holtaway, Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. Riley, Philip D. Freeman, Frank E. Burkhead, Gus S. Wetzel, III, Jonathan D. Holtaway, Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. Riley, Philip D. Freeman, Jonathan D. HoltawayNot described in the published record
Audit · Chair; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedFrank E. BurkheadNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedGus S. Wetzel, IIINot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedKathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. RileyNot described in the published record
Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance · ChairNot publishedPhilip D. FreemanNot described in the published record
CompensationGus S. Wetzel, IIIGus S. Wetzel, III, Douglas T. Eden, Frank E. Burkhead, Jonathan L. States, Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. Riley, Philip D. Freeman, Gus S. Wetzel, III, Douglas T. Eden, Frank E. Burkhead, Jonathan L. States, Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. Riley, Philip D. Freeman, Jonathan L. StatesNot described in the published record
Compensation; Nominating and GovernanceNot publishedDouglas T. EdenNot described in the published record
Nominating and GovernancePhilip D. FreemanPhilip D. Freeman, Douglas T. Eden, Frank E. Burkhead, Gus S. Wetzel, III, Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. Riley, Shawna M. Hettinger, Philip D. Freeman, Douglas T. Eden, Frank E. Burkhead, Gus S. Wetzel, III, Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke, Kevin L. Riley, Shawna M. Hettinger, Shawna M. HettingerNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Frank E. Burkhead; Members Frank E. Burkhead (Chair); Gus S. Wetzel, III; Jonathan D. Holtaway; Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke; Kevin L. Riley; Philip D. Freeman
Committee AppointmentFrank E. Burkhead: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentGus S. Wetzel, III: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJonathan D. Holtaway: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKathleen L. Bruegenhemke: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentKevin L. Riley: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentPhilip D. Freeman: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation: Chair Gus S. Wetzel, III; Members Gus S. Wetzel, III (Chair); Douglas T. Eden; Frank E. Burkhead; Jonathan L. States; Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke; Kevin L. Riley; Philip D. Freeman
Committee AppointmentGus S. Wetzel, III: chair, Compensation
Committee AppointmentDouglas T. Eden: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentFrank E. Burkhead: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentJonathan L. States: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentKathleen L. Bruegenhemke: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentKevin L. Riley: member, Compensation
Committee AppointmentPhilip D. Freeman: member, Compensation
Committee RecordNominating and Governance: Chair Philip D. Freeman; Members Philip D. Freeman (Chair); Douglas T. Eden; Frank E. Burkhead; Gus S. Wetzel, III; Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke; Kevin L. Riley; Shawna M. Hettinger
Committee AppointmentPhilip D. Freeman: chair, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentDouglas T. Eden: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentFrank E. Burkhead: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentGus S. Wetzel, III: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentKathleen L. Bruegenhemke: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentKevin L. Riley: member, Nominating and Governance
Committee AppointmentShawna M. Hettinger: member, Nominating and Governance

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerBrent M. Giles, Chief Executive Officer and Director, from Mar 5, 2026
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Security ListingHWBK (NASDAQ)
Index membershipsNo current membership is published in Alpha's tracked index universe.This is not evidence that the company is absent from every market index.
None publishedAs of Oct 6, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
Entity StatusPublic listing published

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Markets externalNot reviewed. Auditors, advisors, investors and regulators form the external ecosystem.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
7 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 6, 2026. Cited by 4 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    sec proxy. Published Apr 17, 2026. Retrieved Apr 24, 2026. Cited by 12 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec filing. Published Mar 5, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Mar 5, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Mar 5, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Mar 5, 2026. Retrieved May 16, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 23 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1

vpublic-1 published Oct 6, 2026
  • Brent M. Giles executive of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2026-03-05.
  • Chris E. Hafner executive of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2026-03-05.
  • Gregg A. Bexten executive of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2026-03-05.
  • Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke executive of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2026-03-05.
  • Brent M. Giles seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2023-01-01.
  • Douglas T. Eden seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2023-01-01.
  • Gregg A. Bexten seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2023-01-01.
  • Compensation; Nominating and Governance committee of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2023-01-01.
  • Douglas T. Eden member of Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2023-01-01.
  • Jonathan L. States seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2022-01-01.
  • Shawna M. Hettinger seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2022-01-01.
  • Jonathan L. States member of Compensation, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Shawna M. Hettinger member of Nominating and Governance, effective 2022-01-01.
  • Jonathan D. Holtaway seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2019-01-01.
  • Jonathan D. Holtaway member of Audit, effective 2019-01-01.
  • Gus S. Wetzel, III seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2018-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance committee of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2018-01-01.
  • Gus S. Wetzel, III member of Audit; Compensation · Chair; Nominating and Governance, effective 2018-01-01.
  • Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2017-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance committee of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2017-01-01.
  • Kathleen L. Bruegenhemke member of Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2017-01-01.
  • Frank E. Burkhead seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2014-01-01.
  • Audit · Chair; Compensation; Nominating and Governance committee of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 2014-01-01.
  • Frank E. Burkhead member of Audit · Chair; Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 2014-01-01.
  • David T. Turner seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 1997-01-01.
  • Kevin L. Riley seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 1995-01-01.
  • Kevin L. Riley member of Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance, effective 1995-01-01.
  • Philip D. Freeman seat on HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 1993-01-01.
  • Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance · Chair committee of HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC., effective 1993-01-01.
  • Philip D. Freeman member of Audit; Compensation; Nominating and Governance · Chair, effective 1993-01-01.

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:51c0a813-9db9-4251-954b-8ff173ecfba9
  • Cite this recordHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/hawthorn-bancshares-inc
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    HAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.Company
  • Brent M. GilesPerson
  • Chris E. HafnerPerson
  • Gregg A. BextenPerson
  • Kathleen L. BruegenhemkePerson
  • David T. TurnerPerson
  • Douglas T. EdenPerson
  • Frank E. BurkheadPerson
  • Gus S. Wetzel, IIIPerson
  • Jonathan D. HoltawayPerson
  • Jonathan L. StatesPerson
  • Kevin L. RileyPerson
  • Philip D. FreemanPerson
  • Shawna M. HettingerPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • MonitoringHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • LeadershipHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • BoardHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • CommitteesHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Control and votingHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Authority to actHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • FinancialsHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • GovernanceHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • RiskHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • AI oversightHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • LegalHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • CompensationHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Other published claimsHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Coverage gapsHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Linked peopleHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
  • Subject and correctionsHAWTHORN BANCSHARES, INC.
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.