Published mark

J.M. Smucker Company (The)

J M SMUCKER Co

NYSE: SJM. Canonical company identity and public leadership record.

US

Record source reportedRecord not claimedNo Eval published
Follow companySave PDF
Alpha ID
alpha:company:59ed2517-9891-4c22-bd03-70ed8cdd4fad
SEC CIK
0000091419
Website
www.jmsmucker.com Open
Record version
vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce, published Oct 20, 2026
Newest evidence
Jun 26, 2026
Monitoring
Not yet monitored Details
Integrity
Not yet signed Methodology
CEO
Mark SmuckerSince Jun 18, 2025
Chair
Not published
Independent
1 / 11 directors published
Published claims
376 distinct sources
Evidence records
190 pinned
Source conflicts
0None open

Built from 6 distinct sources and 19 evidence records. Every Claim links to where it appears. Where nothing was published, the record states the coverage gap.

CorroboratedSource reportedAlpha inferenceNot disclosed

Public record. Alpha publishes governance facts about this organization from regulatory filings and company statements. Private enterprise overlay data is never projected here. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. How this works

DIRECTOR APPOINTED

David Singer seat on J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2026-01-01.

EffectiveEffective Jan 1, 2026E3

Monitoring

Continuous

What the published record states about identity, evidence, evaluation, monitoring, authority, and freshness. Watched-source schedules are not published for this record.

  • Identityunclaimed
    Published
  • Evidencesource_reported
    Published
  • Evaluationnot_evaluated
    Published
  • MonitoringNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • AuthorityNot yet published for this record.
    Not published
  • Freshnesscurrent
    Published

Leadership

Evidence
RolePersonSinceStatusClaim
Chief Legal Officer and SecretaryJeannette KnudsenJun 2025currentSource reportedE13
Chief People and Corporate Services OfficerJill PenroseJun 2025currentSource reportedE14
President and Chief Operating OfficerJohn BraseJun 2025currentSource reportedE15
Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the BoardMark SmuckerJun 2025currentSource reportedE16
Chief Financial OfficerTucker MarshallJun 2025currentSource reportedE17

Board of directors

Evidence

1 directors published. 1 of 1 with a published determination are independent.

DirectorStatusSinceCommitteesClaim
David SingerIndependent2026AuditSource reportedE3
Dawn WilloughbyIndependence not publishedNot publishedNominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility, chairNominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility · ChairSource reportedE4
Jay HendersonIndependence not publishedNot publishedAuditSource reportedE5
Jodi TaylorIndependence not publishedNot publishedAudit, chairAudit · ChairSource reportedE6
Jonathan Johnson IIIIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensation and PeopleCompensation and People; Nominating, Governance, and Corporate ResponsibilityNominating, Governance, and Corporate ResponsibilitySource reportedE7
Kirk PerryIndependence not publishedNot publishedNominating, Governance, and Corporate ResponsibilitySource reportedE8
Mark SmuckerIndependence not publishedNot publishedNone publishedSource reportedE9
Mercedes AbramoIndependence not publishedNot publishedNominating, Governance, and Corporate ResponsibilitySource reportedE10
Susan Chapman-HughesIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensation and PeopleSource reportedE11
Tarang AminIndependence not publishedNot publishedCompensation and People, chairCompensation and People · ChairSource reportedE12

Committees and risk ownership

Evidence
CommitteeChairMembersRisks assigned
AuditJodi TaylorJodi Taylor, David Singer, Jay HendersonNot described in the published record
Audit · ChairNot publishedJodi TaylorNot described in the published record
Compensation and PeopleTarang AminTarang Amin, Jonathan Johnson III, Susan Chapman-HughesNot described in the published record
Compensation and People · ChairNot publishedTarang AminNot described in the published record
Compensation and People; Nominating, Governance, and Corporate ResponsibilityNot publishedJonathan Johnson IIINot described in the published record
Nominating, Governance, and Corporate ResponsibilityDawn WilloughbyDawn Willoughby, Jonathan Johnson III, Kirk Perry, Mercedes AbramoNot described in the published record
Nominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility · ChairNot publishedDawn WilloughbyNot described in the published record
Committee RecordAudit: Chair Jodi Taylor; Members Jodi Taylor (Chair); David Singer; Jay Henderson
Committee AppointmentJodi Taylor: chair, Audit
Committee AppointmentDavid Singer: member, Audit
Committee AppointmentJay Henderson: member, Audit
Committee RecordCompensation and People: Chair Tarang Amin; Members Tarang Amin (Chair); Jonathan Johnson III; Susan Chapman-Hughes
Committee AppointmentTarang Amin: chair, Compensation and People
Committee AppointmentJonathan Johnson III: member, Compensation and People
Committee AppointmentSusan Chapman-Hughes: member, Compensation and People
Committee RecordNominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility: Chair Dawn Willoughby; Members Dawn Willoughby (Chair); Jonathan Johnson III; Kirk Perry; Mercedes Abramo
Committee AppointmentDawn Willoughby: chair, Nominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility
Committee AppointmentJonathan Johnson III: member, Nominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility
Committee AppointmentKirk Perry: member, Nominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility
Committee AppointmentMercedes Abramo: member, Nominating, Governance, and Corporate Responsibility

Control and voting power

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Authority to act

Evidence and agent registry

Who can act for the company, and on whose authority. This is what a counterparty's agent checks before it accepts an order, signs, or pays.

Principal executive officerMark Smucker, Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the Board, from Jun 18, 2025
Who can authorize an agentNot assessedNo Alpha inference about signing authority or board-reserved matters is published for this record.
Not assessed
bind
AI agents registered by the companyNot registered in the public RegistryAgent Deployments, Agent Use Cases, Authority Grants, TrustChecks, Action Ledger entries and Governance Receipts live in the private enterprise overlay. They are never projected into the public Registry without explicit cross-plane authorization. Absence here is a plane boundary, not evidence that the enterprise operates no agents.
Agent registry
agents
Delegations publishedNot disclosedBoard and officer delegation resolutions are not public filings and are not published in this record.
Search scope
delegations

Financials and market context

Evidence
Index MembershipS&P 500 (SPX)
Security ListingSJM (NYSE)
Index memberships1 membership attached to a specific security and listing.Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.
SPX
Source reportedAs of Oct 20, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted. Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.
IndexSecurityStatusEffectiveVerificationSource
S&P 500 (S&P Dow Jones Indices)NYSE: SJMcurrentNov 6, 2008inferredSlickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license)

Governance and policies

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Risk, audit, and cyber

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

AI oversight and accountability

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Compensation

Evidence

No published claims

Nothing is published for this section yet. A missing Claim is a coverage state, not a negative finding.

Other published claims

Evidence

Published Claims that belong to no section above. Each keeps its permalink, evidence, and assertion state.

Legal NameJ M SMUCKER Co
Entity StatusPublic listing published
Official Websitehttps://www.jmsmucker.com
Published FactConsumer Staples
Published Facthttps://www.jmsmucker.com

Not yet in this record

Coverage

A gap is a coverage state, not a negative finding. These sections are expected for this entity class and are not yet published.

  • Corporate structureNot reviewed. Parent, subsidiary and predecessor structure explains who is governed.
  • OwnershipNot reviewed. Ownership and voting power determine who can influence the board.
  • FinancialsNot reviewed. Governance-relevant financial context frames capital and audit decisions.
  • CompensationNot reviewed. Pay design shows how incentives are governed.
  • GovernanceNot reviewed. Governing documents and provisions set the rules of the enterprise.
  • Shareholder governanceNot reviewed. Meeting and vote records show shareholder dissent and support.
  • AuditNot reviewed. Auditor, controls and restatements show assurance over reporting.
  • LegalNot reviewed. Material legal and regulatory matters show enforcement exposure.
  • RiskNot reviewed. Risk ownership links the board, committees, executives and controls.
  • CyberNot reviewed. Cyber and data governance is a disclosed oversight domain.
  • AI governanceNot reviewed. AI oversight is a differentiated Alpha governance domain.
  • Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.Only explicitly published canonical company identity and current confirmed public roles are included.
  • Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.Absence of a board, committee, executive, listing, or claim is not evidence that it does not exist.
  • Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.Public retrieval does not grant redistribution, model-training, direct-contact, or relationship-pathfinding rights.
  • This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.This Company Profile is an identity and evidence record, not an Alpha rating.

Subject and corrections

Public-role doctrine

This record exists because the company is in the published Registry. The company can claim the record, correct, or dispute any Claim. Corrections are versioned and the original stays in history.

Basis
Published company record built from public sources
Sources
19 evidence records cited. 0 with redistribution rights.
Never published
Private enterprise overlay data: deployments, authority grants, TrustChecks, receipts, telemetry
Record claimed
No
Open disputes
0
Identity ownership
unclaimed
Claiming not yet available

If the company claims the record, its statements appear as their own assertion state and never overwrite the cited evidence.

Evidence

Authority and rights
  1. E1
    Alpha canonical company public projection. canonical identity. Retrieved Oct 20, 2026. Cited by 6 Claims.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  2. E2
    J M SMUCKER Co Form 10-K (filed 2026-06-09). SEC filing. Retrieved Aug 29, 2026. Cited by 2 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  3. E3
    sec proxy. Published Jun 26, 2026. Retrieved Jun 26, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  4. E4
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  5. E5
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  6. E6
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  7. E7
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  8. E8
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  9. E9
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  10. E10
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  11. E11
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  12. E12
    sec filing. Published Jun 27, 2025. Retrieved May 3, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  13. E13
    sec filing. Published Jun 18, 2025. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  14. E14
    sec filing. Published Jun 18, 2025. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  15. E15
    sec filing. Published Jun 18, 2025. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  16. E16
    sec filing. Published Jun 18, 2025. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  17. E17
    sec filing. Published Jun 18, 2025. Retrieved May 5, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  18. E18
    board_seats. board seats. Cited by 13 Claims.
    Authoritative, regulatory filing
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned
  19. E19
    Slickcharts S&P 500 constituent table (public observation, not S&P DJI license). index provider. Retrieved Sep 2, 2026. Cited by 1 Claim.
    Open web
    Rights not recorded, link only
    Evidence not pinned

What changed in version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce

vpublic-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce published Oct 20, 2026
  • David Singer seat on J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2026-01-01.
  • David Singer member of Audit, effective 2026-01-01.
  • Jeannette Knudsen executive of J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2025-06-18.
  • Jill Penrose executive of J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2025-06-18.
  • John Brase executive of J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2025-06-18.
  • Mark Smucker executive of J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2025-06-18.
  • Tucker Marshall executive of J.M. Smucker Company (The), effective 2025-06-18.
Appearance

Alpha Governance PBC. The Registry records reported facts and Alpha's assessments separately. A missing fact is not evidence that it is false.

Record alpha:company:59ed2517-9891-4c22-bd03-70ed8cdd4fad, version public-1:d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce:ro-d751713988987e9331980363e24189ce. https://registry.alpha.ac/companies/j-m-smucker-co

Navigate

esc
  • Actions
    Switch to agent viewJSON, Markdown, MCP
  • Copy Alpha IDalpha:company:59ed2517-9891-4c22-bd03-70ed8cdd4fad
  • Cite this recordJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • Copy canonical URLregistry.alpha.ac/companies/j-m-smucker-co
  • Copy as MarkdownWith assertion states
  • Report an error
  • Theme: System
  • Theme: Light
  • Theme: Dark
  • Records
    J.M. Smucker Company (The)Company
  • Jeannette KnudsenPerson
  • Jill PenrosePerson
  • John BrasePerson
  • Mark SmuckerPerson
  • Tucker MarshallPerson
  • David SingerPerson
  • Dawn WilloughbyPerson
  • Jay HendersonPerson
  • Jodi TaylorPerson
  • Jonathan Johnson IIIPerson
  • Kirk PerryPerson
  • Mercedes AbramoPerson
  • Susan Chapman-HughesPerson
  • Tarang AminPerson
  • Sections
    OverviewJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • MonitoringJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • LeadershipJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • BoardJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • CommitteesJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • Control and votingJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • Authority to actJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • FinancialsJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • GovernanceJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • RiskJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • AI oversightJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • LegalJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • CompensationJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • Other published claimsJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • Coverage gapsJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
  • Linked peopleJ.M. Smucker Company (The)
↑ ↓ move↵ openThis record only

Report an error

Reports attach to the Claim and go to an Alpha analyst through the correction form. Corrections are versioned, and the original stays in history.