Overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Tesla, Inc. operates globally, specializing in the creation, production, and distribution of electric vehicles, alongside comprehensive energy generation and storage solutions. Its market reach extends across the United States, China, and various other international regions. The company's operations are primarily divided into two main segments: its Automotive business and its Energy Generation and Storage division.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
Tesla, Inc.
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
TX
Inspect source
Sector
Consumer Discretionary
Inspect source
Industry
Auto Manufacturers
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NASDAQ: TSLAcurrentEvidence
Effective
Dec 21, 2020
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred
Nasdaq-100Nasdaq · NASDAQ: TSLAcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 1, 2026
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
exchange verified

As of Sep 24, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Relationships and related records

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Because Tesla

Open Because Tesla profile →

Because Tesla: Member

Start not stated → End not stated

Date not established · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-24

Because TeslaBecause TeslaBrandon EhrhartBrandon EhrhartCovered EventCovered EventElon MuskElon MuskIra EhrenpreisIra EhrenpreisJack HartungJack HartungJames MurdochJames MurdochJB StraubelJB StraubelJoe GebbiaJoe GebbiaJohn WalkerJohn WalkerKathleen Wilson-Th…Kathleen Wilson-ThompsonKimbal MuskKimbal MuskTesla, Inc.

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Board & Leadership

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Committee appointments

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

6 public records
Elon Musk portrait
Elon Musk

Chief Executive Officer and Director

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
TSLA executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
VT
Vaibhav Taneja

Chief Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
TSLA executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 24, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

14 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Financials & Filings

Reported statements, original filings and proxy disclosures with their reporting periods.

Financial statements

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Filing library

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Proxy & Voting

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership & Markets

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership, control and market context

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & Assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Disclosures and oversight

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Evidence & History

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:539c15d9-8870-4a01-be85-102205be5d0e
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Published evidence records

14 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Alpha canonical company public projection

    canonical identity · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 24, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Legal Name: Tesla, Inc. · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Entity Status: Public listing published · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: US · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: TX · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Consumer Discretionary · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Auto Manufacturers · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  2. Tesla, Inc. Form 10-K (filed 2026-01-29)

    SEC filing · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Aug 29, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Official Website: https://www.tesla.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: https://www.tesla.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  3. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 3 claims
    • Leadership Role: Robyn Denholm: Chair · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Elon Musk: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Kimbal Musk: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  4. Tesla DEF 14A 2025-09-17

    sec proxy · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: Mar 23, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • Leadership Role: Because Tesla: Member · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Covered Event: Member · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Proposal Thirteen: Member · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Proposed Grant: Member · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Vaibhav Taneja: Member · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  5. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Ira Ehrenpreis: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  6. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Jack Hartung: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  7. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: James Murdoch: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  8. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: JB Straubel: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  9. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Joe Gebbia: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  10. Tesla director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Sep 17, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Kathleen Wilson-Thompson: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  11. Tesla key executives

    other · Source published: Apr 24, 2026 · Retrieved: Apr 24, 2026

    Supports 4 claims
    • Leadership Role: Brandon Ehrhart: General Counsel & Corporate Secretary · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: John Walker: Vice President of Sales - North America · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Lars Moravy: Vice President of Vehicle Engineering · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Xiaotong Zhu: Senior Vice President of APAC & Global Vehicle Manufacturing · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  12. TSLA executive roster source

    sec filing · Source published: May 3, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: Elon Musk: Chief Executive Officer and Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Vaibhav Taneja: Chief Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  13. S&P 500

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: S&P 500 (SPX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  14. Nasdaq-100

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: Nasdaq-100 (NDX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026