Overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Alpha's canonical identity and public leadership record for Vertex Pharmaceuticals.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
MA
Inspect source
Sector
Healthcare
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NASDAQ: VRTXcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 23, 2013
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred
Nasdaq-100Nasdaq · NASDAQ: VRTXcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 1, 2026
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
exchange verified

As of Sep 24, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Relationships and related records

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Alan Garber

Open Alan Garber profile →
Alan GarberAlan GarberAmit K. Sachdev, J…Amit K. Sachdev, J.D.Bruce SachsBruce SachsCharles F. Wagner,…Charles F. Wagner, Jr.Craig B. Thompson,…Craig B. Thompson, M.D.Diana McKenzieDiana McKenzieDuncan J. McKechnieDuncan J. McKechnieE. Morrow Morrey A…E. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.Jeffrey M. LeidenJeffrey M. LeidenJennifer SchneiderJennifer SchneiderJonathan Biller, J…Jonathan Biller, J.D.Kristen C. Ambrose…Kristen C. Ambrose, CPAVertex Pharmaceuti…

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Board & Leadership

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Committee appointments

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

10 public records
AK
Amit K. Sachdev, J.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Patient and External Affairs Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Charles F. Wagner, Jr. portrait
Charles F. Wagner, Jr.

Executive Vice President, Chief Operating and Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Craig B. Thompson, M.D. portrait
Craig B. Thompson, M.D.

Executive Vice President, Global Medicines Development and Medical Affairs, and Chief Medical Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DJ
Duncan J. McKechnie

Executive Vice President, Chief Commercial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
EM
E. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Technical Operations Officer, Head of Biopharmaceutical Science and Manufacturing Operations

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
JB
Jonathan Biller, J.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
KC
Kristen C. Ambrose, CPA

Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
MB
Mark Bunnage, D.Phil

Executive Vice President, Chief Scientific Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
ON
Ourania Nia Tatsis, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Regulatory and Quality Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
RK
Reshma Kewalramani, M.D.

Chief Executive Officer and President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 24, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

11 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Financials & Filings

Reported statements, original filings and proxy disclosures with their reporting periods.

Financial statements

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Filing library

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Proxy & Voting

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership & Markets

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership, control and market context

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & Assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Disclosures and oversight

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Evidence & History

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:67a28a17-ff7a-4e42-a246-5086ab42eca9
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Published evidence records

14 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Alpha canonical company public projection

    canonical identity · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 24, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • Legal Name: VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Entity Status: Public listing published · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: US · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: MA · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Healthcare · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  2. VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-13)

    SEC filing · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Aug 29, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Official Website: https://www.vrtx.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: https://www.vrtx.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  3. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Jeffrey M. Leiden: Chair · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  4. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Alan Garber: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  5. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: Bruce Sachs: Lead Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Reshma Kewalramani: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  6. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Diana McKenzie: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  7. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Jennifer Schneider: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  8. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Lloyd Carney: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  9. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: Michel Lagarde: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Nancy Thornberry: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  10. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Sangeeta Bhatia: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  11. Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 3, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Suketu Upadhyay: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  12. VRTX executive roster source

    sec filing · Source published: May 3, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 10 claims
    • Leadership Role: Amit K. Sachdev, J.D.: Executive Vice President, Chief Patient and External Affairs Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Charles F. Wagner, Jr.: Executive Vice President, Chief Operating and Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Craig B. Thompson, M.D.: Executive Vice President, Global Medicines Development and Medical Affairs, and Chief Medical Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Duncan J. McKechnie: Executive Vice President, Chief Commercial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: E. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.: Executive Vice President, Chief Technical Operations Officer, Head of Biopharmaceutical Science and Manufacturing Operations · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Jonathan Biller, J.D.: Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Kristen C. Ambrose, CPA: Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Mark Bunnage, D.Phil: Executive Vice President, Chief Scientific Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Ourania Nia Tatsis, Ph.D.: Executive Vice President, Chief Regulatory and Quality Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Reshma Kewalramani, M.D.: Chief Executive Officer and President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  13. S&P 500

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: S&P 500 (SPX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  14. Nasdaq-100

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: Nasdaq-100 (NDX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026