Profile

Identity, professional record and current appointments.

Overview

Professional record at a glance

A concise summary of information supported by the cited public sources. Missing information is treated as unknown, not as a negative finding.

Current roles
33 current organizations shown on this profile
Board positions
33 supported by public sources, 0 supplied by the profile owner
Committee roles
4Roles supported by the sources cited on this profile
Qualifications
Not establishedNo qualification is currently confirmed by the cited sources

Professional narrative

About

Retired CEO of Deloitte LLP (2011-2014) after 36-year career at the firm, including U.S. Managing Partner for Operations. Currently President and CEO of University of Miami and President of University of Miami Health System. Serves on boards of Pfizer Inc. and Unum Group.

Sources are shown with the information they support.

Current roles

Appointments & responsibilities

Board appointments

Director

Unum Group (NYSE: UNMA)

Jan 1, 2016 – Present

Independence: Independent

Source effective: 2026-04-09 · Observed: 2026-07-12T04:27:24.095+00:00

confirmedView source

Director

Pfizer (NYSE: PFE)

Jan 1, 2015 – Present

Independence: Not stated

Source effective: 2015-01-01 · Observed: 2026-05-03T01:47:43.596255+00:00

confirmedView source

Governance

Board appointments, committee responsibilities and disclosed relationships.

Committee appointments across companies

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Board and advisory record

Board service

Sources are shown with each role, education record, or credential.

Director

Unum Group

2016-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Director

Pfizer

2015-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Lead Independent Director

BNY Mellon (NYSE: BNY)

2015-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Pfizer

Open Pfizer profile →

Director at Pfizer

2015-01-01 → End not stated

current · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-24

PfizerPfizerThe Bank of New Yo…The Bank of New York Mellon CorporationUnum GroupUnum GroupJoseph J. Echevarria

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Relationship map

Connected through the public record

Direct relationships from verified facts and published résumé records. Private connections are excluded.

Direct public links only

Only published affiliations are shown here. Private relationships require authorized access.

Experience

Career history, education, credentials and public contributions.

Basis

Identifiers, sources, dates and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:person:joseph-j-echevarria
Record version
public-0

Published evidence records

10 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Open source

    sec proxy · Source published: Apr 9, 2026 · Retrieved: Jul 12, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Professional Role: Director at Unum Group · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
  2. Pfizer director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 12, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Board independence: Independent director · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of BNY Mellon · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Pfizer · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Unum Group · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Committee assignments: No committee assignment disclosed in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  3. PFE DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 12, 2026 · Retrieved: Apr 30, 2026

    Supports 4 claims
    • Board role: Board role: Director · Claim reviewed: Apr 30, 2026
    • Committee assignments: Committee assignments: Audit, Governance · Claim reviewed: Apr 30, 2026
    • Executive company: Executive at University of Miami · Claim reviewed: Apr 30, 2026
    • Executive title: Executive title: President and CEO · Claim reviewed: Apr 30, 2026
  4. BK DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 5, 2026 · Retrieved: May 15, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • AI and ML experience: AI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
    • Board role: Board role: Lead Independent Director · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
    • Committee assignments: Committee assignments: Audit, Corporate Governance, Nominating and Social Responsibility, Finance · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
    • Cybersecurity experience: Cybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
    • Technology background: Technology background: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
  5. The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 5, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Board independence: Independent director · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of BNY Mellon · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Pfizer · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Unum Group · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Committee assignments: No committee assignment disclosed in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  6. Open source

    sec filing · Source published: Jan 1, 2015 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Professional Role: Lead Independent Director at The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
  7. Open source

    sec filing · Source published: Jan 1, 2015 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Professional Role: Director at Pfizer · Claim reviewed: May 15, 2026
  8. Open source

    public source · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Date unavailable

    Supports 1 claim
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Unum Group · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  9. Open source

    public source · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Date unavailable

    Supports 1 claim
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Pfizer · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  10. Open source

    public source · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Date unavailable

    Supports 1 claim
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of BNY Mellon · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026

Sources

Sources and published information

Each item links to the public source used to support it. When sources disagree, the item is clearly marked for review.

AI and ML experience · Source reportedAI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Board independence · CorroboratedIndependent directorSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of The Bank of New York Mellon CorporationSupported by 3 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of BNY MellonSupported by 3 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of PfizerSupported by 4 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Unum GroupSupported by 3 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board role · Source reportedBoard role: Director1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
92%
Last reviewed
Apr 30, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 30, 2026

Board role · Source reportedBoard role: Lead Independent Director1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
92%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Committee assignments · CorroboratedNo committee assignment disclosed in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedCommittee assignments: Audit, Corporate Governance, Nominating and Social Responsibility, Finance1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedCommittee assignments: Audit, Governance1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
Apr 30, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 30, 2026

Cybersecurity experience · Source reportedCybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Executive company · Source reportedExecutive at University of Miami1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
85%
Last reviewed
Apr 30, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 30, 2026

Executive title · Source reportedExecutive title: President and CEO1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
85%
Last reviewed
Apr 30, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 30, 2026

Technology background · Source reportedTechnology background: not identified in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

View all sources10 records
  1. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/5513/000000551326000026/unm-20260409.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed Jul 12, 2026

    Supports: Director at Unum Group (NYSE: UNMA)

  2. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Board membership · Committee assignments · Director since · Board independence

  3. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 30, 2026

    Supports: Board role · Committee assignments · Executive company · Executive title

  4. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Board role · Committee assignments · Cybersecurity experience · Technology background

  5. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Board membership · Committee assignments · Director since · Board independence

  6. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1390777/000119312526092500/d52987ddef14a.htm

    Sec Filing · Tier not stated · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Lead Independent Director at The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation (NYSE: BNY-PK)

  7. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/78003/000007800326000033/pfe-20260312.htm

    Sec Filing · Tier not stated · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Director at Pfizer (NYSE: PFE)

  8. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/5513/000000551326000026/unm-20260409.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  9. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/78003/000007800326000033/pfe-20260312.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  10. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1390777/000119312526092500/d52987ddef14a.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership