Profile

Identity, professional record and current appointments.

Overview

Professional record at a glance

A concise summary of information supported by the cited public sources. Missing information is treated as unknown, not as a negative finding.

Current roles
33 current organizations shown on this profile
Board positions
33 supported by public sources, 0 supplied by the profile owner
Committee roles
7Roles supported by the sources cited on this profile
Qualifications
Not establishedNo qualification is currently confirmed by the cited sources

Professional narrative

About

Matthew Thornton, III is a logistics and operations executive with over four decades of experience at FedEx, where he served as EVP and COO of FedEx Freight Corporation. He managed nearly 380 service centers with annual revenue of $8 billion and led transformational growth initiatives including e-commerce platform development.

Sources are shown with the information they support.

Current roles

Appointments & responsibilities

Board appointments

Independent Director

Crown Castle (NYSE: CCI)

Jan 1, 2020 – Present

Independence: Independent

Source effective: 2026-04-06 · Observed: 2026-05-03T01:11:01.454+00:00

confirmedView source

Governance

Board appointments, committee responsibilities and disclosed relationships.

Committee appointments across companies

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Board and advisory record

Board service

Sources are shown with each role, education record, or credential.

Director

Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite Fund

2020-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Independent Director

Crown Castle

2020-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Director

Sherwin-Williams

2014-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Crown Castle

Open Crown Castle profile →

Independent Director at Crown Castle

2020-01-01 → End not stated

current · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-24

Crown CastleCrown CastleNuveen NASDAQ 100 …Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite FundSherwin-WilliamsSherwin-WilliamsMatthew Thornton, …

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Relationship map

Connected through the public record

Direct relationships from verified facts and published résumé records. Private connections are excluded.

Direct public links only

Only published affiliations are shown here. Private relationships require authorized access.

Experience

Career history, education, credentials and public contributions.

Basis

Identifiers, sources, dates and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:person:matthew-thornton-iii
Record version
public-0

Published evidence records

13 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. CCI DEF 14A executive officers

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 6, 2026 · Retrieved: Apr 24, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • AI and ML experience: AI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Cybersecurity experience: Cybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Executive company: Executive at Crown Castle Inc. · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Executive title: Executive title: Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Technology background: Technology background: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
  2. CCI DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 6, 2026 · Retrieved: May 16, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • AI and ML experience: AI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Board role: Board role: Director · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Committee assignments: Committee assignments: Audit, Compensation, Nominating/Governance · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Cybersecurity experience: Cybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Technology background: Technology background: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
  3. Open source

    sec proxy · Source published: Apr 6, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Professional Role: Independent Director at Crown Castle · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
  4. The Sherwin-Williams Company director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 11, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • Board independence: Independent director · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Crown Castle Inc. · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite Fund · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of The Sherwin-Williams Company · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Committee assignments: No committee assignment disclosed in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  5. SHW DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 11, 2026 · Retrieved: May 1, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Board role: Board role: Director · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Committee assignments: Committee assignments: Compensation, Nominating/Governance · Claim reviewed: May 1, 2026
  6. QQQX DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 3, 2026 · Retrieved: May 16, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Board role: Board role: Director · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
    • Committee assignments: Committee assignments: Audit, Dividend, Compliance, Nominating/Governance, Investment, Closed-End Fund · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
  7. Open source

    sec proxy · Source published: Mar 3, 2026 · Retrieved: Apr 25, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Professional Role: Director at Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite Fund · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
  8. Crown Castle Inc. director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 7, 2025 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Board independence: Independent director · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Crown Castle Inc. · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  9. Open source

    sec filing · Source published: Jan 1, 2014 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Professional Role: Director at Sherwin-Williams · Claim reviewed: May 16, 2026
  10. CCI executive roster source

    sec filing · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • AI expertise: AI expertise: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • AI governance relevance: AI governance relevance: not identified in the cited filing · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Executive company: Executive at Crown Castle Inc. · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Executive function: Other Executive (OTHER_EXECUTIVE) · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
    • Executive title: Executive title: Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  11. Open source

    public source · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Date unavailable

    Supports 1 claim
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite Fund · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  12. Open source

    public source · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Date unavailable

    Supports 1 claim
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of Crown Castle Inc. · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026
  13. Open source

    public source · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Date unavailable

    Supports 1 claim
    • Board membership: Serves on the board of The Sherwin-Williams Company · Claim reviewed: May 3, 2026

Sources

Sources and published information

Each item links to the public source used to support it. When sources disagree, the item is clearly marked for review.

AI and ML experience · CorroboratedAI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 24, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

AI expertise · Source reportedAI expertise: not identified in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

AI governance relevance · Source reportedAI governance relevance: not identified in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Board independence · CorroboratedIndependent directorSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Crown Castle Inc.Supported by 3 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite FundSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board membership · CorroboratedServes on the board of The Sherwin-Williams CompanySupported by 3 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
Board role · CorroboratedBoard role: DirectorSupported by 3 public records3 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
92%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 1, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedNo committee assignment disclosed in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
95%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedCommittee assignments: Audit, Dividend, Compliance, Nominating/Governance, Investment, Closed-End Fund1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedCommittee assignments: Audit, Compensation, Nominating/Governance1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedCommittee assignments: Compensation, Nominating/Governance1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
May 1, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 1, 2026

Cybersecurity experience · CorroboratedCybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 24, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

Executive company · CorroboratedExecutive at Crown Castle Inc.Supported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 24, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Executive function · Source reportedOther Executive (OTHER_EXECUTIVE)1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Executive title · CorroboratedExecutive title: Executive OfficerSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 3, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 24, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

Technology background · CorroboratedTechnology background: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 16, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 24, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

View all sources13 records
  1. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed Apr 24, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Cybersecurity experience · Executive company · Executive title · Technology background

  2. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Board role · Committee assignments · Cybersecurity experience · Technology background

  3. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1051470/000105147026000039/cci-20260406.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Independent Director at Crown Castle (NYSE: CCI)

  4. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Board membership · Committee assignments · Director since · Board independence

  5. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 1, 2026

    Supports: Board role · Committee assignments

  6. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 16, 2026

    Supports: Board role · Committee assignments

  7. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1608741/000119312526088848/d108472ddef14a.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed Apr 25, 2026

    Supports: Director at Nuveen NASDAQ 100 Dynamic Overwrite Fund (NASDAQ: QQQX)

  8. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Board membership · Board independence

  9. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/89800/000008980026000025/shw-20260310.htm

    Sec Filing · Tier not stated · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: Director at Sherwin-Williams (NYSE: SHW)

  10. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 3, 2026

    Supports: AI expertise · AI governance relevance · Executive company · Executive function · Executive title

  11. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1608741/000119312526088848/d108472ddef14a.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  12. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1051470/000105147026000039/cci-20260406.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership

  13. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/89800/000008980026000025/shw-20260310.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership