Overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Abbott Laboratories, along with its affiliated entities, is a global healthcare enterprise dedicated to the research, development, manufacturing, and worldwide distribution of a diverse portfolio of health solutions. The company operates through four primary divisions: Established Pharmaceutical Products, Diagnostic Products, Nutritional Products, and Medical Devices.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
ABBOTT LABORATORIES
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
IL
Inspect source
Sector
Healthcare
Inspect source
Industry
Medical Devices
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NYSE: ABTcurrentEvidence
Effective
Mar 4, 1957
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred

As of Sep 24, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Relationships and related records

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

C. J. Scoggins

Open C. J. Scoggins profile →

C. J. Scoggins: Chief Financial Officer

Start not stated → End not stated

Date not established · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-24

  • ABT executive roster source · source URL not published
C. J. ScogginsC. J. ScogginsClaire Babineaux-F…Claire Babineaux-FontenotDaniel J. StarksDaniel J. StarksDarren W. McDewDarren W. McDewJohn A. McCoy, Jr.John A. McCoy, Jr.John G. StrattonJohn G. StrattonMichael F. RomanMichael F. RomanMichael G. O'GradyMichael G. O'GradyMichelle A. KumbierMichelle A. KumbierNancy McKinstryNancy McKinstryNita AhujaNita AhujaNita Ahuja M.DNita Ahuja M.DAbbott Laboratories

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Board & Leadership

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Committee appointments

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

5 public records
CJ
C. J. Scoggins

Chief Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
ABT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
JA
John A. McCoy, Jr.

Vice President, Finance and Controller

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
ABT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
PP
Philip P. Boudreau

Executive Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
ABT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
RB
R. B. Ford

Chief Executive Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
ABT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Robert B. Ford portrait
Robert B. Ford

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
ABT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 24, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

14 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Financials & Filings

Reported statements, original filings and proxy disclosures with their reporting periods.

Financial statements

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Filing library

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Proxy & Voting

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership & Markets

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership, control and market context

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & Assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Disclosures and oversight

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Evidence & History

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:9bdcfc13-67a5-4567-ae7a-9b17cbcb0eee
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Published evidence records

5 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Alpha canonical company public projection

    canonical identity · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 24, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Legal Name: ABBOTT LABORATORIES · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Entity Status: Public listing published · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: US · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: IL · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Healthcare · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Medical Devices · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  2. Abbott Laboratories director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 13, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 12 claims
    • Leadership Role: Claire Babineaux-Fontenot: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Daniel J. Starks: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Darren W. McDew: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: John G. Stratton: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Michael F. Roman: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Michael G. O'Grady: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Michelle A. Kumbier: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Nancy McKinstry: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Nita Ahuja M.D: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Paola Gonzalez: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Robert B. Ford: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Sally E. Blount Ph.D: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  3. ABT DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Mar 13, 2026 · Retrieved: May 15, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: Nita Ahuja: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Sally E. Blount: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  4. ABT executive roster source

    sec filing · Source published: May 3, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 5 claims
    • Leadership Role: C. J. Scoggins: Chief Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: John A. McCoy, Jr.: Vice President, Finance and Controller · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Philip P. Boudreau: Executive Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: R. B. Ford: Chief Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Robert B. Ford: Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  5. S&P 500

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: S&P 500 (SPX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026