Overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Caterpillar Inc., a global enterprise founded in 1925 and headquartered in Deerfield, Illinois (having previously operated as Caterpillar Tractor Co. until its rebranding in 1986), is a premier manufacturer and vendor of heavy construction and mining equipment, diesel and natural gas power units, and industrial gas turbines across the world.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
CATERPILLAR INC
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
DE
Inspect source
Sector
Industrials
Inspect source
Industry
Farm & Heavy Construction Machinery
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NYSE: CATcurrentEvidence
Effective
Mar 4, 1957
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred

As of Sep 24, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Relationships and related records

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Andrew R.J. Bonfield

Open Andrew R.J. Bonfield profile →

Andrew R.J. Bonfield: Chief Financial Officer

Start not stated → End not stated

Date not established · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-24

  • CAT executive roster source · source URL not published
Andrew R.J. BonfieldAndrew R.J. BonfieldAnthony D. FassinoAnthony D. FassinoBob De LangeBob De LangeChristine M. Pambi…Christine M. PambianchiD. James Umpleby IIID. James Umpleby IIIDavid W. MacLennanDavid W. MacLennanDebra L. Reed-KlagesDebra L. Reed-KlagesDenise C. JohnsonDenise C. JohnsonDerek R. OwensDerek R. OwensGerald JohnsonGerald JohnsonJackie MarksJackie MarksJames C. Fish, Jr.James C. Fish, Jr.Caterpillar Inc.

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Board & Leadership

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Committee appointments

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

10 public records
AR
Andrew R.J. Bonfield

Chief Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
AD
Anthony D. Fassino

Group President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
BD
Bob De Lange

Group President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
CM
Christine M. Pambianchi

Chief Human Resources Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DC
Denise C. Johnson

Group President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DR
Derek R. Owens

Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
JE
Jason E. Kaiser

Group President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Joseph E. Creed portrait
Joseph E. Creed

Chief Executive Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
RM
Rodney M. Shurman

Group President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
WE
William E. Schaupp

Vice President and Chief Accounting Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CAT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 24, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

11 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Financials & Filings

Reported statements, original filings and proxy disclosures with their reporting periods.

Financial statements

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Filing library

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Proxy & Voting

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership & Markets

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership, control and market context

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & Assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Disclosures and oversight

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Evidence & History

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:7fead8ce-496f-40fc-8dc1-e2aa3d988c91
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Published evidence records

12 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Alpha canonical company public projection

    canonical identity · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 24, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Legal Name: CATERPILLAR INC · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Entity Status: Public listing published · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: US · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: DE · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Industrials · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Farm & Heavy Construction Machinery · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  2. CATERPILLAR INC Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-13)

    SEC filing · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Aug 29, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Official Website: https://www.caterpillar.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: https://www.caterpillar.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  3. CAT DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2025 · Retrieved: Apr 30, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: D. James Umpleby III: Chair · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  4. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: Joseph E. Creed: Chair · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Debra L. Reed-Klages: Lead Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  5. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: David W. MacLennan: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Gerald Johnson: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  6. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Leadership Role: Jackie Marks: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: James C. Fish, Jr.: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  7. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Lynn J. Good: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  8. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Nazzic S. Keene: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  9. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Rayford Wilkins Jr: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  10. Caterpillar director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 30, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Susan C. Schwab: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  11. CAT executive roster source

    sec filing · Source published: May 3, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 10 claims
    • Leadership Role: Andrew R.J. Bonfield: Chief Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Anthony D. Fassino: Group President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Bob De Lange: Group President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Christine M. Pambianchi: Chief Human Resources Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Denise C. Johnson: Group President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Derek R. Owens: Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Jason E. Kaiser: Group President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Joseph E. Creed: Chief Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Rodney M. Shurman: Group President · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: William E. Schaupp: Vice President and Chief Accounting Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  12. S&P 500

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: S&P 500 (SPX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026