Overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Walmart Inc., established in 1945 and based in Bentonville, Arkansas, operates as a global retail powerhouse, having officially adopted its current name in February 2018, formerly Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. The company's diverse operations, encompassing retail, wholesale, and e-commerce, are managed across three primary divisions: Walmart U.S., Walmart International, and Sam's Club.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
Walmart Inc.
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
DE
Inspect source
Sector
Consumer Staples
Inspect source
Industry
Discount Stores
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NYSE: WMTcurrentEvidence
Effective
Aug 31, 1982
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred
Nasdaq-100Nasdaq · NYSE: WMTcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 1, 2026
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
exchange verified

As of Sep 24, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Relationships and related records

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Brian Niccol

Open Brian Niccol profile →

Brian Niccol: Director

2025-04-24 → End not stated

Date not established · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-24

Brian NiccolBrian NiccolC. Douglas McMillonC. Douglas McMillonCarla A. HarrisCarla A. HarrisCesar CondeCesar CondeChristopher NicholasChristopher NicholasDaniel DankerDaniel DankerDaniel J. BartlettDaniel J. BartlettDavid GugginaDavid GugginaDonna MorrisDonna MorrisDwayne MilumDwayne MilumGregory B. PennerGregory B. PennerJohn David RaineyJohn David RaineyWalmart

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Board & Leadership

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Committee appointments

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

11 public records
CN
Christopher Nicholas

Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart International

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DD
Daniel Danker

Executive Vice President, AI Acceleration, Product and Design

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DJ
Daniel J. Bartlett

Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DG
David Guggina

Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart U.S.

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DM
Donna Morris

Executive Vice President, Global People, and Chief People Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DM
Dwayne Milum

Senior Vice President and Controller

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
JD
John David Rainey

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
John R. Furner portrait
John R. Furner

President and Chief Executive Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Latriece Watkins portrait
Latriece Watkins

Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Sam's Club U.S.

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
SD
Seth Dallaire

Executive Vice President and Chief Growth Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
SK
Suresh Kumar

Executive Vice President, Global Chief Technology Officer and Chief Development Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 24, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

14 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Financials & Filings

Reported statements, original filings and proxy disclosures with their reporting periods.

Financial statements

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Filing library

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Proxy & Voting

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership & Markets

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership, control and market context

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & Assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Disclosures and oversight

Structured records are unavailable. This does not establish that no records exist.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Evidence & History

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:c744430a-ff6d-476e-a360-95674980da7e
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Published evidence records

15 evidence records, matching Agent View. Records may refer to different locations or observations in the same document. This count is not a count of independent corroborating sources.

  1. Alpha canonical company public projection

    canonical identity · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 24, 2026

    Supports 6 claims
    • Legal Name: Walmart Inc. · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Entity Status: Public listing published · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: US · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: DE · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Consumer Staples · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: Discount Stores · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  2. Walmart Inc. Form 10-K (filed 2026-03-13)

    SEC filing · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Aug 29, 2026

    Supports 2 claims
    • Official Website: https://www.walmart.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Published Fact: https://www.walmart.com · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  3. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Gregory B. Penner: Chair · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  4. WMT DEF 14A director slate

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 24, 2025 · Retrieved: May 15, 2026

    Supports 3 claims
    • Leadership Role: Brian Niccol: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: C. Douglas McMillon: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Timothy P. Flynn: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  5. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Carla A. Harris: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  6. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Cesar Conde: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  7. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 3 claims
    • Leadership Role: John R. Furner: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Randall L. Stephenson: Lead Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Steuart L. Walton: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  8. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Marissa A. Mayer: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  9. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Robert E. Moritz Jr: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  10. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Sarah J. Friar: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  11. Walmart DEF 14A 2026-04-23

    sec proxy · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: Apr 23, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Shishir Mehrotra: Independent Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  12. Walmart director board source

    sec filing · Source published: Apr 23, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Leadership Role: Thomas W. Horton: Director · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  13. WMT executive roster source

    sec filing · Source published: May 3, 2026 · Retrieved: May 3, 2026

    Supports 11 claims
    • Leadership Role: Christopher Nicholas: Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart International · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Daniel Danker: Executive Vice President, AI Acceleration, Product and Design · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Daniel J. Bartlett: Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: David Guggina: Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart U.S. · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Donna Morris: Executive Vice President, Global People, and Chief People Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Dwayne Milum: Senior Vice President and Controller · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: John David Rainey: Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: John R. Furner: President and Chief Executive Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Latriece Watkins: Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Sam's Club U.S. · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Seth Dallaire: Executive Vice President and Chief Growth Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
    • Leadership Role: Suresh Kumar: Executive Vice President, Global Chief Technology Officer and Chief Development Officer · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  14. S&P 500

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: S&P 500 (SPX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026
  15. Nasdaq-100

    index provider · Source published: Date unavailable · Retrieved: Sep 2, 2026

    Supports 1 claim
    • Index Membership: Nasdaq-100 (NDX) · Claim reviewed: Sep 24, 2026